5 Health Blog Fads I Love Right Now

lemon water

 

If you’ve been on Pinterest lately or have been reading health blogs, you know that they are saturated with health fads ranging from special diets to extreme workouts. Not every health fad is right—or even safe—for every person, and I think it’s important to do research before jumping on any bandwagon. Articles like this make me chuckle a little.
Still, here and there, from reading and trial and error, something sticks…and I stick with it. Here are 5 health fads, discovered through blogs, that have become part of my normal routine.

Raw Milk: I admit, I stumbled upon this one on Pinterest and went on to read other things without looking back. The idea that raw milk tasted better than pasteurized milk, let alone had health benefits, seemed like some off-the-wall hippie stuff to me. My interest in drinking raw milk was actually piqued when I talked to a young Amish girl selling it at one of the farmer’s markets here.

“Does it really taste any different from pasteurized milk?” I asked.
“I don’t know…I’ve never tasted pasteurized milk.” Never? I thought everyone drank normal milk!

I finally gave in when it was for sale at the Amish-owned market that recently opened near our apartment. I bought half a gallon and drank it for a week. It was good, fresher. I didn’t think it tasted so different until I went back to drinking pasteurized milk the next week and found it had a strange, unpleasant aftertaste I had never noticed before. So I’ve stuck with raw. It also doesn’t give me stomach upset like pasteurized milk products. It’s illegal in some states, regulated in others, and fine for retail sale in a few. You can read more about raw milk and its benefits here and check your states regulations here.

Lemon Water: I love to drink water, but lemon adds a little pizzazz.

It’s done wonders for clearing up my skin. Healthy and tasty!

Meditation: I’ve tried a few types of meditation, but mindfulness meditation is probably my favorite, and the type I am currently practicing every morning before I start my day. It helps me to focus on the present, relieves anxiety, and starts my day off with a positive frame of mind.

Learn more about the types of meditation and its benefits.

Apple Cider Vinegar: Healthy but less tasty, apple cider vinegar (or ACV) is next on the list. Apple cider vinegar is one of those good-for-everything substances. I’ve used it as hair conditioner (mixed with raw honey), flea repellant for the dogs, disinfectant, facial cleanser, and, as my acupuncturist recommended, as a way of balancing the acidity of my stomach so that I don’t get nausea and acid reflux. Check out more uses for ACV here. I’ve tried drinking it watered down or warm and mixed with honey, but I find the quickest and easiest way to get it down is to take it just like a shot. My acupuncturist recommended up to a quarter cup per day, although a tablespoon or so usually does the trick for me. I use the drink two caps full from the cap off the bottle.

No-Poo/Co-Washing/Curly Girl Method: Alternative hair care has saved my curls. They are much tamer and less frizzy than they used to be, and my hair is soft all the time. I have been through several incarnations of alternative hair care, all of which involved cutting out shampoos that contain sulfates and other surfactants that can be harsh on hair.

First I tried the No-Poo method, which I first read about in this post on one of my favorite blogs, Musings of a Kitchen Witch. This method promised a 2-6 week adjustment period, in which my hair might be greasy as the natural oils became balanced again. Eight weeks later, I still felt sticky and gross. A lot of people love this method, it just wasn’t for me.

Then I read the book Curly Girl which taught me about different types of curly hair and the various ways to care for them. I also stumbled upon Naturally Curly, where I learned about co-washing (washing with conditioner instead of shampoo). My current routine is conditioning once or twice a week, rinsing and massaging my hair under the shower water in between co-washes, and ACV for product buildup.

When I treat my body well, I feel good about my body.

What little things do you do to treat your body well?

Leave a Reply

